Kicking a series to the curb

Ever read a series that got so bad you just couldn’t finish it? I find this happens fairly frequently and for many reasons. Too many new characters get introduced. Every book seems the same as the last one or two or three you read – same plot, different character names. Or maybe the series just went on for way too long. Or they killed off my favorite character, and I refused to read so much as another word in the series.

Here are some of the series that I have given up on:

House of Night by P.C. Cast

Why, why, why won’t Zoey cuss? She is fighting an evil Queen. She has a dark lord-esque guy who is either in love with her or trying to kill her (I never did figure that out). She’s watched a close friend die and others die only to be reborn, and yet she can’t bring herself to use four-letter words. That gets on my last nerve. As do Zoey, Kalona, Neferet, and the revolving door of guys that Zoey develops an interest in. For me, this series just went on way too long. I read the first eight books and thought, how is this battle not resolved yet? By book 9, my interest was so low I was reduced to skimming it and can’t remember a single thing of importance from it. Each book in a series should advance the plot and move towards the denouement. If it doesn’t, then does it really have any point? When it comes to House of Night, I guess I’ll never know.

Sookie Stackhouse by Charlaine Harris

Which reason to choose from? Sookie was possibly one of the most annoying leading ladies ever. How many times can one person experience near fatal injuries before they decide that hanging out with werewolves, vampires, and fairies is maybe a really bad idea? She went through men the way most people go through socks. I had a chronic urge to drive a stake through each book in the hopes that Vampire Bill would die a permanent death. I think the final straw for me was the shape-shifting tiger boyfriend in book 6. After that, the series was dead to me (which would have made a great title for one of the books in the series).

Lux by Jennifer Armentrout

Book four was my breaking point. Up until then I liked the series a lot. Then along came Origin, and I thought I was stuck in a Twilight novel. Kat and Daemon got on my nerves so much I almost wished Daedalus would off the two of them. Their constant PDAs, gooey-eyed professions of love, and total dependency on each other got on my last nerve and were far too common. They love each other. We get it. Message received. No need to beat us over the head with it. How many times do we have to be told they love one another? About 3,000 times too many, apparently.

For most of the book, I missed the cast of characters that made the first three books so entertaining. Once Origin became the Katy and Daemon show, my interest in the story plummeted. I found myself thinking this book would be so much more interesting if it was about Dawson and Beth or Dee or Archer or just about anyone else. And when the cliffhanger ending finally came, I was done. Done with the book and done with the series entirely.

Other series that landed on the curb:

Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

I made it through book three, where I thought the series lost momentum, and I lost interest.

Fallen by Lauren Kate

The second book was dreadful and by the third I just didn’t care anymore.

Fallen Angels by J.R. Ward

Gave up when a certain character died but didn’t stay dead. When that happens, I feel like the author is afraid to pull the trigger (pun intended).

The Demon Trappers by Jane Olivia

Book two was the end for me. Riley was so whiny and made such stupid decisions that I ceased to care about her and the world she lived in. Maybe it got better in book three, but I never gave the series another chance.

The Immortals by Alyson Noel

I read the first three books and was left feeling like no progress had been made in the third book. The series had become stagnant, and there were too many other books I wanted to read more than the fourth one in this series.

So, am I too quick to slam the door on these series? Should I have kept reading or do you agree that giving a dull series the heave-ho leads to reading more desirable books? Let me know what you think, and thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

