The Raven Cycle Book 2 – too good to write a coherent review about it

This is one of those books that is so good I have a hard time even writing a review for it. So instead, I’ll just gush. I love Ronan. LOVE HIM. I like how dark he is, how his mind works, how he can be enthralled with something and terrified of it at the same time. How he is fearsomely protective of those he loves and yet without fear or care when it comes to his own wellbeing. I love his rebellion and his snark and the way he deals with these terrible discoveries he makes about himself, his family, and his friends. I love his secrets and the way he keeps them. Then he comes face-to-face with his father’s killer, and I just wanted to reach through the pages and choke the life out of that murderous bastard for the pain and suffering he caused poor Ronan. And that hint at the end about a potential love interest for Ronan? Did not see that coming! How did I miss that? But it’s perfect for him. It fits him. I can’t wait to see this explored in the next two books (and sorry if I am being cryptic but I don’t want to give anything away. The Raven Cycle books are so good, you really need to go into them and experience them all for yourself).

Adam, oh damn, how he scared me in this book. I kept waiting for something terrible to happen to him. He was losing himself in this book. We saw much less of his point of view in this second Cycle installment, which I believe was Stiefvater’s way of showing how lost Adam was, how he is losing himself, losing time, and being pulled apart by the Cabeswater without understanding how or why. He is a volcano of anger, frustration, jealousy, and despair, but he finds a way to not only not explode, but to figure out what he is meant to do. To act in order to save his friends. I want to know if he will always be tied to the Cabeswater and, if so, what does that mean for his future?

Why hasn’t Blue told Gansey yet??? Why, why, why, why, why? What is she waiting for and how much longer does he have? How much time has passed since Blue saw him on the corpse road? Dammit, girl, he is running out of time, so just tell him already and everyone can get to work on how to prevent this from happening. Stop stalling and start yammering! Despite my anger at her for not telling him, my heart kinda broke for her as well. Just imagine not being able to kiss the boy you love because of a prophecy that foretells you bringing about his death. Then imagine that boy is Gansey. Then bang your head against the wall repeatedly because, really, what the hell else is there to do at that point?

And what’s with the very vague publication date for Book 3? 2014? Yeah, that’s 365 potential release dates right there. Let’s whittle that down to one. One definite date that can be pushed forward but not back. I don’t like waiting, and when it comes to waiting for a book I desperately want to read, I downright suck at waiting, so at least give me a firm date so that I know just how long I am going to be in misery before Blue and The Raven Boys will be a part of my life again. I think January sounds nice. Yeah, January is a lovely time to release a new book. Just picture it: snow on the ground, sitting in a comfy chair by a lovely fireplace somewhere, cup of hot cocoa in one hand, The Raven Cycle #3 in the other hand. Sounds good, right? Right, Maggie? A slightly belated holiday gift for your readers? A perfect way to ring in the New Year??? Seriously, who doesn’t wanna ring in the New Year with three hot guys, one crush-worthy ghost, and a non-clairvoyant psychic? Answer: nobody!

Leave a Reply

