Lucy Christopher’s The Killing Woods is gripping, twisted, and awesome

KW

When Emily’s PTSD suffering father emerges from the woods, carrying the body of Ashley and confesses to killing her, it should be a clean-cut case of murder. Yet, it’s anything but. Why was Ashley in the woods? Who was with her? What were they doing in the woods at night? What’s the Game? Who killed her?

You’ll have to pick up the book and read it for yourself, because I am not giving anything away. It’s too good of a story to have it ruined by a spoiler-ridden review, but take my word for it, you will not want to put this book down once you start reading.

Page-turning, gripping, total suspense. It will keep you guessing until the end.

Fifty pages in I was certain I knew who the killer was. A hundred pages later, I changed my mind and knew without a doubt that someone else was the killer. Fifty more pages, and I pegged a third person as the one. In the end, I was right, I was wrong, and I was blown away by Christopher’s ability to dangle hints, keep the reader guessing, and not reveal the truth until it was meant to be known.

Christopher has crafted excellent characters as well. Tragic, sad, determined, confused and, most importantly, likeable and relatable. It should be hard to like a character who could be guilty of murder, but Christopher makes it easy, mixing just enough tragedy and mystery to make the reader sympathize even while suspecting.

I am definitely looking forward to reading anything by this author. If it’s half as good as The Killing Woods, it will be a great read.

Leave a Reply

