Donna of the Dead – the most fun you can have during a zombie apocalypse

I had my doubts about starting a zombie book. I have never managed to get through one before for several reasons:

1) Of all paranormal species, zombies are my least favorite

2) Yes, I hate them even more than werewolves and shifters

3) I hold all zombie stories up to an unattainable, impassable standard – you guessed it – Shaun of the Dead. No zombie story, no matter how awesome, can ever surpass that movie in my opinion. It is by far, the funniest, best orchestrated zombie horror comedy of all time.

So it was with lots of reservations that I requested Donna of the Dead on Netgalley. But it did come recommended by a great author, so I knew I had to give it a chance. And I was not disappointed. I am not sure what your average zombie YA book is like (since I’ve never read one before), but I am willing to bet that most aren’t like Donna of the Dead. This book is hilarious. So many lines that had me laughing out loud, like this one:

            “I’m a sixteen-year-old unlicensed, inexperienced driver with a reanimated corpse blocking my view. Crazy is the only way I can drive.”

Donna is both a typical teenage girl and a completely untypical teenage girl. She’s self-centered, crushing on a boy who doesn’t notice her, and spends most of her time texting and giggling with her BFF. She has also has bizarre silver eyes and hears voices in her head whenever she’s in danger. Those voices go into overdrive when the zombie apocalypse begins. Like most young people facing a crisis, Donna is forced to take a good, hard look at herself and decide what kind of person she wants to be, a damsel or a fighter, a coward or a protector. It’s not an easy, instant decision, and I enjoyed that about her.

Kemper also brings up a lot of good points about zombie apocalypses. Like, no new music because musicians would be mindless zombies. Protect your iPods, people! And what’s the perfect vehicle for a zombie attack? A bookmobile. How perfect is that? Hell, if you can’t outrun them, you can hurl books at them:

More books sail out of the back doors of the vehicle.

“Big ones,” someone says. “Grab the big ones!”

“Throw Moby Dick. I hated that one.”

“Where’s Twilight?”

“No,” Tara squeals. “Don’t throw Twilight!”

Hahaha! I would have hurled that series with abandon! And if your aim stinks, then at least you die reading a good book. Is there really any better way to leave this world? I doubt it.

Donna of the Dead is a fast-paced, fun, highly recommended read.

Leave a Reply

