Half-Wild isn’t wild enough. It isn’t wild at all.

Sally Green’s Half-Bad, about a half-white witch, half-black witch teenager named Nathan growing up in England where witches of different races are at war with one another, was one of my favorite books of 2014. I thought the story idea was fresh, the characters were intriguing and well-rounded, and the pace moved really well. All of this meant that the sequel, Half-Wild, was on my list of most anticipated books of 2015.

And what a crashing dihwsappointment it was. Half-Wild wasn’t wild at all. It was dull. Really dull. Like “will I miss anything if I skip a few pages” dull. The action, when there was any, moved at a glacial pace. Mostly, it was just a bunch of waiting around while Nathan got angry and swore at everyone. Very little happened to advance the plot until the very end and then that was so rushed that there wasn’t any time to absorb what was happening before it all ended.

Annalise felt as though she had been written by a completely different author in this book. She was naïve and silly. Her dialogue seemed forced, as if she was reciting lines instead of expressing what she was actually feeling. I got the impression she was no more than a placeholder until Nathan could figure out who he really loved. There was no chemistry, which made Annalise and her relationship with Nathan come off as fake.

And then came the extremely rushed ending. I am not going to spoil it (though I am really tempted to if for no other reason than to rant out my frustration with it). Let me suffice it to say that I hated the ending. HATED with all caps and fifty !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I felt that it was so pointless. And rushed. And pointless. I was outraged that a character who could have developed into total awesomeness was just fodder for a dumb, confused blonde. Yes, I get that what happened had a purpose in advancing the plot and Nathan’s destiny but it all felt contrived and unnecessary to me. I got to the last page and was left with nothing but disappointment. I didn’t feel even the tiniest spark of enthusiasm for the third book. I guess all good things must come to an end, and all the good ended with Half-Bad.

Leave a Reply

