Struggling to get through Veronica Roth’s trilogy

I admit that I am seriously late to the Veronica Roth party. In fact, the party’s over, but I might as well add my two cents. I tried to read Divergent long before the movie came out, and I just couldn’t get into it. I think I gave up somewhere around Chapter Two, not my best effort. Then I saw the movie, which I liked, and still felt no pressure to read the book. Recently, I stumbled across an article about books and their movie counterparts, and somehow I missed the massive text at the top that said SPOILERS FOR ALL BOOKS & MOVIES DISCUSSED IN ARTICLE. Oops, my blind bad. So, naturally, the article gave away a massive spoiler for the Divergent series, and suddenly I just had to know how IT happens, so I picked up Divergent (I wasn’t going to trust the movie to tell me enough to start off on book 2, Insurgent) and started reading. This time I made it to the end. And it wasn’t bad, it wasn’t good. It wasn’t much of anything really.

I thought the movie was better.div3

I can’t believe I just typed that

But it’s true.

Tris was so whiny in the books, like, ugh, this chick is a brat whiny. And when it comes to relationships and reacting to other people, she is so immature and awkward. I am not sure if that is done intentionally because she was Abnegation and has now switched to a faction with more verbal and physical interaction or if Roth just wrote her that weirdly, but it was seriously distracting, and naturally I was comparing Tris in the book to Tris in the movie (which is why I almost never watch a movie before reading the book). I have concluded that Movie Tris is so much better. Not as whiny, not as love-stupid, and braver. On the other hand, the book simulations are much scarier in the books than in the movies. On screen they came across as not that threatening, but when described through Tris’s POV they suddenly carried a lot more weight and were so much more challenging.

Speaking of challenging, I finished Divergent and started Insurgent and stalled…like a plane whose engines die at 22,000 feet. It is so boring I might just cure my insomnia with it. So far while reading Insurgent, I have found chipping off my fingernail polish more fascinating. I’ve been distracted by an errant moth, and I got through 15 minutes of an infomercial before remembering that I had an open book in my hands. And Tris has become even more annoying. How is that possible? She whines more than I have whined in this review. She behaves like a ridiculous child. I want to reach through the pages and slap her, and I am only 8 chapters in so far. I don’t think I can make it through two more books just so I can read about the HUGE SPOILER moment.

I think I’ll just wait for the movie to come out.

I can’t believe I just typed that.

But it’s true.

One thought on “Struggling to get through Veronica Roth’s trilogy

  1. joyjump says:

    Well I haven’t seen the movies,but I did enjoy the books,but yes it can be a bit boring sometimes.I just became tired of the dystopias.

    Like

Leave a Reply

