Ariel Lawhon’s I Was Anastasia

Reviewed for Netgalley and free of Spoilers

I Was Anastasia is a thoroughly researched novel that explores the story of Anna Anderson, better known as the woman who staunchly claimed to be Anastasia, the only surviving daughter of Czar Nicholas of Russia, who, along with his wife and children, were murdered by the Bolsheviks on July 17, 1918.

Author Ariel Lawhon weaves fact, fiction, and fancy into this tragic story of a family destroyed by revolution and a woman desperately trying to establish her identity.

Lawhon employs a technique of shifting points of view. Anastasia’s chapters are in first person and are personable, honest, and engaging. Anna’s chapters are in third person, making her seem isolated and distant from the reader. Is this the author’s way of showing how much the terrible events of July 1918 changed Anastasia forever? Or is this Lawhon’s way of showing us that Anna is not who she claims to be? I am not going to tell you and neither is Lawhon…not until the very end, that is.

Despite its length, the story moves quickly and is quite the page turner. If I had one major grievance with it, it was the constant shifts in time. I grew extremely tired of the jumping around timeline-wise. While I can understand moving from the 1960s to 1917 or 1918, taking us back in time and then jumping back six months, then a month, then a week, then a day became frustrating and annoying to the point that I wanted to put the story down every time I swiped left and saw “one week earlier” or “seven months earlier.” If this was an attempt to heighten the suspense, it failed. Instead, I found myself trying to remember where in the sequence of events this was occurring. At times, it seemed as though I was trying to piece the story together myself. In her afterword, Lawhon admits that she enjoys “nonlinear timelines,” but after reading I Was Anastasia, I can honestly say I do not.

For those who know the history of the Romanovs, including the discoveries in 2007 and 2009, and who may hesitate to read the book because of that knowledge, I would say read it anyway. I was up to date on my Czar Nicholas history, and I still found I Was Anastasia to be an engaging and interesting spin on a well-known tale.

 

Leave a Reply

